Election News

Republican Rep. Doug Lamborn of Colorado to Retire After Nine Terms

Rep. Doug Lamborn of Colorado said Friday that he will not seek reelection this year. He was reelected for his 9th term by a 16% margin in 2022.

Lamborn is the 38th current U.S. House member to announce they are retiring, resigning before the end of the term, or seeking another office.

As CBS News reports, "His retirement opens up all three Republican-controlled seats in the upcoming 2024 election. Rep. Ken Buck, who represents Colorado's 4th Congressional District (Douglas County, Eastern Plains, and northeast Colorado) announced his retirement from Congress in November 2023, and Rep. Lauren Boebert, who currently represents Colorado's 3rd Congressional District (Western Slope and southern Colorado) announced in late December that she will run for Buck's current seat in CD-4."

GOP Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer Won't Seek Reelection This Year

Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer said Thursday that he will retire at the end of this term. 

Luetkemeyer represents the oddly-shaped, safely Republican 3rd congressional district. He was reelected to his eighth term in 2022 by a 30% margin. 

This brings to 37 the number of current House members not seeking reelection this November. This includes two members who have announced they will be leaving before the end of the term.  

Utah Rep. John Curtis Running for Senate; Update on House Retirements

Rep. John Curtis (UT-03) is joining an increasingly crowded field seeking the 2024 Republican nomination for U.S. Senator from Utah. Incumbent Mitt Romney is retiring from the safely Republican seat. 

Other notables in the race include Utah House Speaker Brad Wilson, as well as Brent Hatch, son of the late Sen. Orrin Hatch. The elder Hatch held this same seat for 42 years before retiring in 2018. The Utah statewide primary (for offices other than president) is June 25.  

Curtis is completing his 4th term in the U.S. House. As with all four of the state's congressional districts, it is safely Republican. Curtis was reelected with a 35% margin of victory in 2022.

Live Results: South Carolina State Senate Special Election

The second day of the year brings the first election of 2024. 

South Carolina State Senate District 19

Republicans hold a 30-14 partisan edge over Democrats in the South Carolina State Senate. There is one independent. Members serve four-year terms; the next regular elections are this November.

McCarthy Exits the House; Republican Majority Narrows as 2024 Gets Underway

2024 begins with two vacancies in the U.S. House. One is in CA-20, where former Speaker Kevin McCarthy's resignation was effective as of December 31. The other vacancy is in NY-03; George Santos was expelled on December 1. 

With these departures, the Republican majority has narrowed. When the House reconvenes next week, the party will hold 220 seats, with Democrats controlling 213.

Colorado Rep. Lauren Boebert to Switch Districts, Will Run for Open Seat in District 4

Republican Rep. Lauren Boebert said Wednesday that she will seek reelection to Congress in Colorado's 4th congressional district, switching from District 3, where she is currently completing her second term. 

The move allows her to avoid a prospective rematch against Adam Frisch, a well-funded Democrat who came within roughly 500 votes of defeating the incumbent in 2022. The race was the closest U.S. House race that year, despite the conservative lean of the district. 

Live Results: Delaware State House Special Election

We wrote earlier this month about several Oklahoma legislative special elections as the final ones for 2023.  It turns out things weren't quite finished, which brings us to Thursday's State House special election in Delaware.

Delaware State House District 37

Democrats hold a 26-14 partisan edge in the Delaware House of Representatives. There is one vacancy to be filled with this special election. Members serve two year terms; the next regular elections are in 2024.

Updated Cook Political Report Electoral Map

While clearly not today's biggest news around the 2024 presidential election, we wanted to note two ratings changes from The Cook Political Report.

The forecaster moved Michigan and Nevada from Leans Democratic to Toss-up. These were the first updates since their initial ratings were released this past summer. Read the analysis ($)>

Live Results: Oklahoma Legislative Special Elections

Oklahoma closes out the 2023 election calendar with a State Senate special general election and a State House special primary.  

Polls close at 8:00 PM Eastern Time.

Oklahoma State Senate District 32

Live Results: Houston Mayoral Runoff

Houston is the nation's 4th largest city, with a population of approximately 2.3 million. Mayor Sylvester Turner was ineligible to run for a third four-year term.

A large field competed in the November 7 election to succeed Turner. As widely expected, State Sen. John Whitmire (42% of the vote) and U.S. Rep Sheila Jackson Lee (36%) finished well ahead of the field. Saturday's runoff is required as neither received a majority.

Both candidates are Democrats, although the election is officially nonpartisan.