Election News

Legislative Special Elections in Virginia and New Hampshire

While we have a couple legislative special elections on the calendar this Tuesday, attention will quickly turn to next Tuesday, April 4. That day brings an election to determine the ideological edge going forward on the Wisconsin Supreme Court. The general election for Chicago mayor will also take place, featuring two Democrats with strongly different views on the city's crime problem. The latest poll showed the race to be within the margin of error.

Legislative Special Elections

Virginia State Senate District 9

Democrats hold a narrow 21-18 margin over Republicans in the Virginia State Senate. There is one vacancy. Members serve four-year terms; the next regularly scheduled elections are in November.

The open seat is in the Richmond-area District 9. Democrat Jennifer McClellan resigned prior to being sworn in to the U.S. House of Representatives earlier this month. She won a special election last month to complete the term of the late Donald McEachin (D). 

Live Results: Louisiana House District 93 Special Election

Louisiana will fill a vacancy in the State House Saturday. Polls close at 9:00 PM Eastern.

Legislative Special Election

Louisiana State House District 93

Republicans hold a sizeable 70-32 edge over Democrats in the Louisiana House of Representatives. There are two independents and a single vacancy. Members serve four-year terms; the next regularly scheduled elections are in October, with general election runoffs, where needed, in November.

The open seat is in District 93, centered in New Orleans. Democrat Royce Duplessis resigned in December after winning a special election for State Senate District 5.

Live Results: Jacksonville Mayor, Georgia State House Special Election

The presidential race is ramping up. We note that Joe Exotic, aka 'The Tiger King', announced his bid last week.

It is another quiet week on the election front. There's a mayoral election in Jacksonville and a State House special election in Georgia.

Polls in both close at 7:00 PM Eastern Time.

Live Results: Oklahoma Marijuana Legalization

In addition to the initiative below, there are two elections in Florida today. Live results >


On Tuesday, voters in Oklahoma will determine whether recreational marijuana should be legal in the state.

Live Florida Election Results: Tampa Mayor, House District 24 Special GOP Primary

There is one year until the Super Tuesday presidential primaries on March 5, 2024.

In addition to the elections below, there is a statewide ballot initiative in Oklahoma on the legalization of recreational marijuana.  Live Results >

Returning to the here and now, it's a quiet week on the election front. We'll have results for two Florida elections on Tuesday. Polls close at 7:00 PM Eastern Time.

Overview and Live Results: Chicago Mayoral Election, Legislative Special Elections

This Tuesday, we're following the mayoral election in Chicago. There are also three State House special elections in Connecticut, and a State House special runoff election in Georgia.

Chicago Mayor

Mayor Lori Lightfoot faces a large field of challengers Tuesday as she seeks a second term running the nation's third largest city. Given the size of the field, and the number of credible candidates, an April 4 runoff is all but certain. What isn't certain is whether the incumbent will make it out of the first round.

Michigan Rep. Elissa Slotkin Running for U.S. Senate

Rep. Elissa Slotkin of Michigan announced Monday that she is running for U.S. Senate in 2024. Slotkin is looking to succeed her fellow Democrat, Sen. Debbie Stabenow who is retiring after four terms in office.

Slotkin was first elected to the 8th congressional district in 2018, defeating incumbent Republican Mike Bishop by about 4%. Narrow reelection wins followed again in 2020 and 2022. Her 2022 run was in the 7th district, the best fit after redistricting. This competitive district, in the southcentral part of the state, includes Lansing, the state capital.

Initial 2024 House Ratings from Sabato's Crystal Ball

The team at Sabato's Crystal Ball is out with their initial ratings for the 2024 House elections. You can read the full analysis or click the image below for an interactive map of the ratings.

After two consecutive elections resulting in narrow majorities, the forecaster calls the race for the House a toss-up. It sees 190 safe GOP seats, with 174 solidly for the Democrats. Adding in the seats rated 'likely' brings us to a Republican edge of 202-189. That leaves just 44 highly competitive seats, rated 'leaning' or 'toss-up'.

Live Results: Virginia U.S. House Special Election, Wisconsin Supreme Court Primary and More

Tuesday brings a wide variety of elections, some scheduled, some special. Highlights include a congressional special election in Virginia and a regular primary for a seat on the closely-divided Wisconsin Supreme Court.

U.S. House Special Election

Virginia Congressional District 4

The only vacancy in the U.S. House will be filled via this special election. Republicans currently hold a 222-212 partisan edge. Select the 'Current House' button on the 2024 House election map to see that breakdown.

This district includes the state capital, Richmond, and runs southward to the North Carolina border. Democrat Donald McEachin died in late November, after having been easily reelected to a fourth term. 

Live Results: Louisiana State House District 93 Special Primary

Republicans hold a sizeable 69-33 edge over Democrats in the Louisiana House of Representatives. There are two independents, along with the vacancy in District 93. Members serve four-year terms; the next regularly scheduled elections are in November.

District 93 is based in New Orleans, including the French Quarter. While normally that would be a 'nice to know' factoid, it may have some impact on who wins here. This is the big weekend of Mardi Gras, with parades and other events scheduled through the day. It could be a logistical nightmare for voters who try and cast ballots on Election Day itself. According to a spokesperson for the House Speaker, the date was the only one available that allows time for a runoff before the start of the next legislative session.

Democrat Royce Duplessis resigned in December after winning a special election for State Senate District 5.