Election News

Wyoming and Puerto Rico Republican Nominating Contests

Republicans in Wyoming and Puerto Rico will weigh in this weekend on the long-decided party nomination.

No vote totals are expected from either contest, but there will be updates to the delegate counts as that information becomes available.

Visit the Republican Delegate Tracker to see full results by state and candidate.

Kansas Republican Rep. Jake LaTurner Not Seeking Reelection

Kansas Republican Rep. Jake LaTurner announced Thursday that he will not seek a third term in Congress this year. 

LaTurner represents the 2nd congressional district of Kansas. It encompasses the eastern part of the state, excluding much of the Kansas City area. It is a fairly safe Republican area, although not quite as conservative as the state's two other GOP-held seats. LaTurner won by a 15% margin in 2022. 

43 current House members  - 24 Democrats and 19 Republicans - are retiring or seeking another office in November. Also departing is Rep. Jerry Carl (AL-01), who was defeated in a member vs. member GOP primary.

Separately, Wisconsin Republican Rep. Mike Gallagher is scheduled to resign tomorrow, although the date may get pushed back slightly so that he can vote on foreign aid legislation this weekend.

Live Results: Alabama Congressional Primary Runoff, Michigan State House Special Elections

This Tuesday we've got a primary runoff election in Alabama and two State House special elections in Michigan.

In each case, results will be available after the polls close at 8:00 PM Eastern Time.

Alabama Primary Runoff

Alabama held primaries for president and U.S. House on March 5. For offices other than president, the state requires a top two runoff where no candidate gets a majority of the primary vote. 

U.S. House District 2

As part of court-ordered midcycle redistricting, this seat was significantly redrawn to meet requirements of the Voting Rights Act. The new boundary is much more favorable to Democrats, with a consensus general election rating of 'Likely Democratic'.

Live Results: Alaska and Wyoming Democratic Presidential Contests

On Saturday, Democrats in Alaska and Wyoming will hold their nominating contests. These are party-run events. 

Delegate allotments are small - 15 in Alaska and 13 in Wyoming. These will be allocated proportionately to candidates receiving 15% or more of the statewide vote. 

Uncontested: 2024 U.S. House Races with Single Major Party Participation

One of the more popular pages on the site in 2022 was a list of 35 U.S. House races being contested by only one of the two major parties. We're bringing that back for 2024, and will be updating it after each statewide downballot primary.

Although only eight states have held that primary thus far, the group combined represents 151 districts, more than 1/3 of the total 435.

At this point, there are 23 districts on the list. In some states, changes are possible after the major party primaries. As a result, some districts initially on the list could be reclassified or removed. For the most current information, see 2024 Uncontested U.S. House Races >>.

Live Results: Georgia State House Special Election

We're following one legislative special election this week.

Georgia State House District 139

Republicans hold a 101-78 edge over Democrats in the Georgia House of Representatives. There is one vacancy, to be filled via this special election.

No Labels to Abandon Third Party Bid for 2024

The Wall Street Journal is reporting that No Labels will not field a third party ticket in 2024. A formal announcement is expected Monday. 

The decision comes after the death of one of the group's founding co-chairs, former Connecticut Sen. Joe Lieberman. 

While No Labels said it had secured ballot access in 19 states, it was unable to secure interest from top-tier candidates to represent it on a centrist "unity ticket". Those that have turned it down include former Republican Govs. Chris Christie (NJ) and Larry Hogan (MD), Senator Joe Manchin (WV-D), and former Republican presidential candidate Nikki Haley. 

Live Results: April 2 Presidential Primaries and Other Elections

A fairly busy start to April, with a mix of contests. Four states are holding presidential primaries.  There are also runoff elections from state primaries last month, legislative special elections, and mayoral elections.


Both Donald Trump and Joe Biden have had their respective nominations locked up for several weeks. It is likely each will win the vast majority of the available delegates on Tuesday.

April 2 delegate counts include those for Delaware, where the scheduled presidential primaries were canceled.

Live Results: North Dakota Democratic Primary

North Dakota Democrats have held an extended party-run primary, conducted largely by mail. Ballots were available beginning February 20 and were due back no later than 1:00 PM Eastern Time on March 30.

Results are expected at some point this weekend, and are expected to be released all at once.

Live Results: Alabama State House Special Election

Voters in one of the few competitive legislative districts in Alabama head to the polls Tuesday. Democrats are attempting to flip the seat, although the outcome won't impact control of a chamber dominated by Republicans. 

Alabama State House District 10

Republicans hold a large 75-27 margin over Democrats in the Alabama House of Representatives. There are three vacancies. Members serve four-year terms; the next elections are in 2026.