Election News

Utah Rep. Chris Stewart Expected to Resign from Congress

The Salt Lake Tribune has learned that Utah Rep. Chris Stewart (R) plans to resign from Congress in the near future, possibly this week. The departure is expected to be for personal reasons, reportedly to address family health issues. 

Stewart is in his 6th term representing Utah's 2nd congressional district, which covers much of the western and southern part of the state. Like all four of the state's safely Republican districts after 2021 redistricting, it also includes a portion of the Salt Lake City area.

Stewart was reelected by a 26% margin in 2022.

Ron DeSantis Enters 2024 Presidential Race

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis has joined the 2024 presidential race. His campaign filed paperwork with the Federal Election Commission Wednesday afternoon, to be followed by an official announcement during a Twitter Spaces audio livestream interview at 6:00 PM Eastern Time.

To listen to the livestream, visit Twitter.com on a web browser or open the Twitter app on your phone.

DeSantis released this video late Wednesday afternoon.

Sen. Tim Scott Launches Presidential Campaign

South Carolina Sen. Tim Scott formally launched his 2024 presidential campaign on Monday. Scott, the only Black Republican in the Senate, made his announcement in North Charleston, after an introduction by the second-highest-ranking Senate Republican, John Thune of South Dakota, who has endorsed him.  

Scott is attempting a more traditional conservative, positive message, a contrast to the current frontrunner, former President Donald Trump. Whether that resonates with the GOP base, particularly in an increasingly crowded field, remains to be seen.

According to the New York Times, "Gov. Ron DeSantis of Florida and Chris Christie, the former governor of New Jersey, are expected to enter the race in the coming days. Chris Sununu, the popular Republican governor of New Hampshire, hinted over the weekend that he was likely to throw his hat in the ring as well, scrambling the battle for the state with the first Republican primary. Mike Pence, Mr. Trump’s former vice president, is still mulling a run."

Delaware Sen. Tom Carper Won't Seek Reelection in 2024

Democratic Sen. Tom Carper said Monday that he will retire at the end of this term. Carper was first elected in 2000, and won his fourth term by a 22% margin in 2018.

The move opens up a seat likely to remain in Democratic hands. The early favorite, if she chooses to run, will be Lisa Blunt Rochester, the state's at-large U.S. Representative. Answering a question following his prepared remarks, Carper said that he supports Rochester to succeed him.

Carper is the fifth Senator to pass on reelection in 2024, joining Mike Braun (R-IN), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Debbie Stabenow (D-MI). Only Braun is seeking another office, running for governor of Indiana. Only the Michigan seat is seen as competitive. 

Overall, 34 Senate seats are up in 2024. The map favors Republicans, as Democrats will be defending 23 seats, including all seven currently seen as the highly competitive. The GOP can regain control with a net gain of two seats or by winning the 2024 presidential election along with a net gain of one seat.

Live Results for May 16 Elections, Including Primaries for Kentucky Governor and Philadelphia Mayor

Kentucky and Pennsylvania hold statewide primaries on Tuesday. In this off-year, there's only a few races we're tracking. There are also several mayoral and legislative special elections.

Kentucky Primary

Polls close at 6:00 PM local time. That's 6:00 PM Eastern, except 7:00 PM Eastern for areas observing Central Time.


Democratic Gov. Andy Beshear is seeking a second term. While he has the benefit of incumbency, a competitive general election is likely in this deep red state. That has drawn a large field of Republicans seeking to challenge him.

Overview and Live Results: Six Texas Cities Elect a Mayor

Texas Mayoral Elections

Three of the nation's 15 most populous cities, along with another three in the top 100 - all in Texas - will elect a mayor on Saturday.1 1City rankings are based on July 1, 2021 Census Bureau population estimates. They are for the city itself, not the associated metropolitan area.

All the elections are officially nonpartisan. However, the affiliation of each incumbent, if known, is displayed. All six incumbents are expected to be reelected.

The six cities are ordered by population, starting with the largest - San Antonio. Results will be available after the polls close at 7:00 PM Central Time (8:00 PM Eastern).

Rep. David Trone to Run for Open Senate Seat in Maryland

Three term incumbent Rep. David Trone (MD-06) is entering the race for U.S. Senate in Maryland. He is looking to succeed fellow Democrat Ben Cardin, who announced his retirement earlier this week. 

Trone, who has made a fortune as the co-founder of the nation's largest independent wine retailer, is the second candidate in the race. Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando jumped into the race Tuesday.  According to the New York Times, the race for the Democratic nomination "could also draw Angela Alsobrooks, the Prince George’s County executive who is seen as a rising star in the state, and Representative Jamie Raskin". 

Rep. Colin Allred to Challenge Sen. Ted Cruz in 2024

Texas Republican Sen. Ted Cruz has drawn a high-profile opponent for 2024. Democratic Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32) will look to unseat the incumbent Republican.

Cruz narrowly won a second term in 2018, fending off then-Rep. Beto O'Rourke by less than three percent. That race drew national attention and, at the time, was the most expensive Senate race in history. 

Allred was first elected to Congress in that same 2018 cycle, upsetting longtime Republican Rep. Pete Sessions. In 2022, he was reelected to a third term by a 65% to 35% margin.

The Dallas-area 32nd is oddly shaped, part of a gerrymander in 2021 redistricting that largely eliminated competitive districts across Texas. In 2022, Republicans won 25 of 38 districts, and only two seats were decided by a margin of 10% or less.

Live Results: Mayoral Elections in Four Cities; Legislative Special Elections in Massachusetts

After a very quiet April, the election calendar picks back up Tuesday with the mayoral election in Lincoln, Nebraska. There are also mayoral primaries in Indiana and Ohio and state house special primaries in Massachusetts.

Looking ahead, several cities in Texas will elect mayors this Saturday.  May 16 will be the busiest day of the month, including the Kentucky statewide primary. In the Bluegrass State, Democratic Gov. Andy Beshear will be seeking a second term. Most of the focus will be on the Republican primary, where a dozen candidates are vying to challenge the incumbent in what is likely to be a competitive general election.

Mayoral Elections

Three of the nation's 100 most populous cities will hold mayoral elections or primaries on Tuesday.1 1City rankings are based on July 1, 2021 Census Bureau population estimates. They are for the city itself, not the associated metropolitan area. Lincoln, Nebraska will hold a general election, while Indianapolis and Fort Wayne in Indiana will hold primaries.

We'll also have results for the Akron, Ohio Democratic primary. 

The four cities are ordered by population.

Democratic Washington Gov. Jay Inslee Not Running in 2024

Gov. Jay Inslee of Washington said Monday that he will not seek a 4th term in 2024. Inslee, 72, served eight terms in the U.S. House before winning his current office in 2012.