New Hampshire Primary Results

The New Hampshire nominating primaries for the 2014 election were held on September 9.

Governor:  Incumbent Maggie Hassan (D) swatted away token primary opposition.  In November, she will face off against businessman Walt Havenstein who held off Andrew Hemingway to win the Republican nomination.   Hassan has led by over 20 points in early polling.  While this will likely shrink as Republicans coalesce around their nominee, she is likely to win reelection in November.

Senate:  As expected, former Massachusetts Senator Scott Brown won the Republican nomination, getting approximately 50% of the vote in the primary.   Incumbent Jeanne Shaheen was unopposed on the Democratic side.   Shaheen has led Brown in most polling to date and our Senate simulator currently gives her a 95% chance of being reelected.

US House: All vote totals can be seen here.    Both of New Hampshire's congressional districts, held by Democrats in their first term, are seen as competitive this November

NH-01: Incumbent Carol Shea-Porter ran unopposed.  She will meet former Manchester Mayor Frank Guinta, who held off Dan Innis for the Republican nomination.  The district includes the southeastern part of the state.

NH-02:  Incumbent Ann Kuster also ran unopposed.   State Representative Marilinda Garcia won her primary fairly easily.

To see the current roster of New Hampshire elected officials, or look up those from any address in the country, use our Who Represents Me feature.

comments powered by Disqus


Democratic Rep. Anthony Brown to Run for Maryland Attorney General

The solidly blue 4th district is expected to remain that way after redistricting

Poll: Virginia Governor's Race a Dead Heat

Democrat Terry McAuliffe and Republican Glenn Youngkin are tied at 46% with registered voters

New Hampshire Rockingham District 6 Special GOP Primary

Special general election is December 7. The vacancy occurred when Republican Anne Copp resigned in August.

Two Longtime Democratic House Members Won't Seek Reelection

David Price of North Carolina and Mike Doyle of Pennsylvania will retire at the end of this term

Kentucky Democrat Rep. John Yarmuth Won't Seek Reelection Next Year

He is the chairman of the House Budget Committee and the Only Democratic Rep from the state