Live Results: New Hampshire and Connecticut Legislative Special Elections

While the focus will be on the state's presidential primary Tuesday, some New Hampshire residents will also be able to weigh in on vacancies in the State House.

There is also a special election in Connecticut.

New Hampshire State House

Republicans hold a narrow 198-195 edge in the New Hampshire House of Representatives. There are two independents, one member with no affiliation, and four vacancies. Members serve two-year terms; the next elections are in November.

Special elections will fill two of the vacancies Tuesday, while the other two will hold special primaries. Polling places for these districts close at 7:00 PM Eastern Time. 

District Coos 1

This is a two-member district located in the northern part of the state, bordering Vermont In 2022, Republicans James Tierney (37% of the vote) and Troy Merner (35%) won the two seats. Democrat Cathleen Fountain (28%) finished third.

Merner resigned in September. Fountain will be back on the ballot; she was unopposed for the Democratic nomination. Sean Durkin won the GOP primary.

District Coos 6

This district is in the northern half of the state, bordering Maine. Democrat William Hatch resigned in September. Hatch defeated his Republican opponent by 58% to 42% in 2022. Edith Tucker was unopposed for the Democratic nomination. Michael Murphy won the Republican primary.

District Rockingham 21 (Primary)

This single-member district is in the Portsmouth area. Democrat Robin Vogt resigned in December, 2023. 

No Republicans entered the race, so the Democratic nominee is highly likely to be the next representative.

The two Democrats on the primary ballot are Jacqueline Cali-Pitts and Jennifer Mandelbaum. 

The special general election is March 12.

District Strafford 11 (Primary)

This three-member district is located in the southeastern part of the state. Three Democrats won the seats in 2022. Hoy Menear died in November, 2023.

Joseph Bazo is unopposed for the Republican nomination, while Erik Johnson and Jeffrey Salloway are competing for the Democrats.

The special general election is March 12.

Connecticut State House District 115

Democrats hold a 97-53 partisan advantage in the Connecticut House of Representatives. There is a single vacancy, which will be filled Tuesday. Members serve two-year terms; the next elections are in November.

District 115 is on Long Island Sound, entirely within West Haven. Democrat Dorinda Borer resigned late last year after winning the mayoral election for that city. Borer was unopposed in 2022.

There are three candidates on the ballot. They include Democrat Bill Heffernan, Republican Silvana Apicella, and independent Ed O'Brien.

Polls close at 8:00 PM Eastern Time.

Upcoming Elections

Bookmark the 2024 Presidential Election Calendar

comments powered by Disqus


Overview and Live Results: Michigan Presidential Primary

Democrats pushed the state to the front of the nominating calendar; Republicans will hold a split event to accommodate party rules

Overview and Live Results: South Carolina Republican Primary

The winner of this primary has been the GOP nominee in all but one cycle since 1980

Overview and Live Results: Milwaukee Mayoral Primary

Mayor Cavalier Johnson is seeking reelection to a full four-year term

Wisconsin Republican Rep. Mike Gallagher Won't Seek Reelection

The move comes just days after he bucked his party, voting against the impeachment of Homeland Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas