Live Results: South Carolina Democratic Primary

The first sanctioned Democratic primary of 2024 takes place Saturday in South Carolina. President Joe Biden faces two long shot challengers in Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-03) and author Marianne Williamson. 

In the only public poll of the race, Biden saw 69% support, with Phillips at 5% and Williamson at 3%. If the actual results are anywhere close to that, Biden will win all of the state's delegates.

Polls close at 7:00 PM Eastern Time. 


There are 55 pledged delegates. 19 of them will be allocated based on the statewide vote, while 36 of them are associated with the state's seven congressional districts; the number varies by district. Per political scientist Josh Putnam, "The more Democratic a district has voted in the past, the more delegates that district will have."

In each case, delegates are allocated proportionately to candidates receiving at least 15% of the vote.

Bookmark our pledged delegate count map to keep track through the primary and caucus season as candidates accumulate delegates toward the 1,968 needed to win the Democratic nomination.

A Calendar Note

South Carolina appears to be unique in that the state will run and pay for a presidential primary for each party on a different date. This flexibility made it feasible for the Democrats to have it move to the first position in 2024.

The Republicans have scheduled their primary for Saturday, February 24. The state's primary for offices other than president is June 11.

Upcoming Presidential Contests

Bookmark the 2024 Presidential Election Calendar

comments powered by Disqus


Overview and Live Results: Michigan Presidential Primary

Democrats pushed the state to the front of the nominating calendar; Republicans will hold a split event to accommodate party rules

Overview and Live Results: South Carolina Republican Primary

The winner of this primary has been the GOP nominee in all but one cycle since 1980

Overview and Live Results: Milwaukee Mayoral Primary

Mayor Cavalier Johnson is seeking reelection to a full four-year term

Wisconsin Republican Rep. Mike Gallagher Won't Seek Reelection

The move comes just days after he bucked his party, voting against the impeachment of Homeland Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas