Live Results: December 5 Legislative Special Elections

The 2023 election calendar is winding down. The remaining race with the most interest is this Saturday's Houston mayoral runoff. Aside from that, there are a number of legislative special elections December 5 and 12.

This Tuesday, we're following State House special general elections in Florida and Minnesota. In New Hampshire, there are party primaries for two vacancies.

Florida State House District 118

Republicans hold a large 85-53 edge over Democrats in the Florida House of Representatives. There are two vacancies. Members serve two year terms, the next regular elections are in 2024.

District 118 is in the southwestern part of Miami-Dade County. Republican Juan Fernandez-Barquin resigned in June. Fernandez-Barquin won by a 68% to 32% margin over Democrat Johnny Farias in 2022. 

Farias is back on the ballot. Both he and Republican Mike Redondo were unopposed for their respective party's nomination. Independent Francisco De La Paz is also a candidate. 

Polls close at 7:00 PM Eastern Time.

Minnesota State House District 52B

Democrats hold a narrow 69-64 partisan edge in the Minnesota House of Representatives. Tuesday's election will fill the one vacancy. Members serve two year terms, the next regular elections are in 2024.

District 52B is located in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, and was last represented by Democrat Ruth Richardson. She resigned in September. Richardson won her final term by a 62% to 38% margin over Republican Cynthia Lonnquist in 2022.

Lonnquist has been renominated by the GOP. Bianca Virnig won the Democratic nomination. Libertarian Charles Kuchlenz is also on the ballot.

Polls close at 9:00 PM Eastern Time.

Regarding the unusual district identifier, each Minnesota State House district is has a number followed by A or B. The A and B districts do not overlap, but taken together, they match the boundary of the State Senate district with the same number.

New Hampshire State House Districts Coos 1 and 6 (Primaries)

Republicans hold tenuous control of the 400-member New Hampshire State House. The party has 198 seats to 196 for Democrats. There are two independents, one member with no party affiliation, and three vacancies. Members serve two year terms, the next regular elections are in 2024.

The special general election for both Coos County seats will take place on January 23. Polls close at 7:00 PM Eastern Time.

Coos 1 is a two-member district located in the northern part of the state. One seat is held by Republican James Tierney. Republican Troy Merner resigned the other seat at the end of September. 

In the 2022 election, Tierney (37% of the vote) and Merner (35%) were elected. Democrat Cathleen Fountain was the third candidate on the ballot; she received 28% of the vote.

Fountain is running in the special election and is unopposed for the nomination. On the Republican side Sean Durkin and Pamela Kathan are on the ballot.

Coos 6 is a single-member district in the northcentral part of the state, along the Maine border. Democrat William Hatch resigned in September. He was elected by a 58% to 42% margin in 2022. 

Don Lacasse and Michael Murphy are vying for the Republican nomination, while Edith Tucker is unopposed for the Democrats.

Upcoming Elections

Bookmark the 2024 Presidential Election Calendar

  • December 9
    • Houston Mayoral Runoff
  • December 12
    • Oklahoma State House District 32 Special
    • Oklahoma State Senate District 39 Special (Primary) 
  • January 2
    • South Carolina State Senate District 19 Special
  • January 9
    • Alabama State House District 16 Special
    • Alabama State Senate District 9 Special (Primary)
  • January 15
  • January 16
    • Florida State House District 35 Special
  • January 23
    • New Hampshire Presidential Primary (GOP | DEM)
      • Date is noncompliant with Democratic National Committee calendar
        • May result in a loss of delegates
        • Joe Biden did not register; he can be voted as a write-in
    • New Hampshire State House Districts Coos 1 and 6 Special
comments powered by Disqus


Overview and Live Results: North Dakota Republican Presidential Caucus

On the eve of Super Tuesday, 29 delegates will be up for grabs

Overview and Live Results: District of Columbia Republican Presidential Primary

The three day party-run primary ends Sunday; 19 delegates are available

Overview and Results: Republican Caucuses in Idaho, Michigan, and Missouri

Already unusual as the second half of a two-part nominating contest, Michigan's caucuses have turmoil surrounding competing party factions

Overview and Live Results: Michigan Presidential Primary

Democrats pushed the state to the front of the nominating calendar; Republicans will hold a split event to accommodate party rules

Overview and Live Results: South Carolina Republican Primary

The winner of this primary has been the GOP nominee in all but one cycle since 1980