2020 House Elections: Actual Results

All 435 House seats were contested in 2020

Results for the 435 House races contested in 2020. Prior to the election, Democrats held 232 seats, Republicans 197. One seat was held by a Libertarian. There were five vacancies.

Democrats maintained control of the chamber after the 2020 elections. However it is a much narrower margin: the party had a net loss of about 10 seats

While this map is interactive, it does not reflect the district boundaries that will be in place for the 2022 elections. Most states will undergo a redistricting process after the Census release. It could be into 2022 before this is finalized in every state.  

no 2020 election
no 2020 election

Map :

- +
Safe Likely Leans Tilt Toss-up

Note: This color is used for Libertarian (MI-3)

Pro Map

Hover over a district for details.

Customize your map by changing one or more districts. Return here to share it. Share or Embed your Map:

House Elections 2020

Current 233 197 1 4*
Consensus Forecast 232 182 0 21

Forecast: Totals on interactive map
* Vacant Seat(s)

District Incumbent Party Since Term Predictions Margin of Victory
Consensus Map House(a) President(b)
AK-AL Don Young
1973 24th
6.5% 15.2%
Alyse Galvin
Don Young*
AR-2 French Hill
2015 3rd
6.3% 10.7%
Joyce Elliott
French Hill*
AZ-6 David Schweikert
2011 5th
10.3% 10.0%
Hiral Tipirneni
David Schweikert*
CA-21 TJ Cox
2019 1st
0.5% 15.5%
TJ Cox*
David Valadao
CA-25 Mike Garcia
2020 1st
8.7% 6.7%
Christy Smith
Mike Garcia*
CA-39 Gil Cisneros
2019 1st
3.1% 8.6%
Gil Cisneros*
Young Kim
CA-48 Harley Rouda
2019 1st
7.1% 1.7%
Harley Rouda*
Michelle Steel
CO-3 Scott Tipton
2011 5th
7.9% 12.0%
Incumbent defeated in primary for 2020 election.
Diane Bush
Lauren Boebert
FL-15 Ross Spano
2019 1st
6.0% 10.0%
Incumbent defeated in primary for 2020 election.
Alan Cohn
Scott Franklin
FL-26 Debbie Mucarsel-Powell
2019 1st
1.7% 16.3%
Debbie Mucarsel-Powell*
Carlos Gimenez
GA-7 Rob Woodall
2011 5th
0.1% 6.3%
Incumbent not running for re-election in 2020.
Carolyn Bourdeaux
Rich McCormick
IA-1 Abby Finkenauer
2019 1st
5.0% 3.5%
Abby Finkenauer*
Ashley Hinson
IA-2 David Loebsack
2007 7th
12.1% 4.1%
Incumbent not running for re-election in 2020.
Rita Hart
Mariannette Miller-Meeks
IA-3 Cindy Axne
2019 1st
2.1% 3.5%
Cindy Axne*
David Young
IL-13 Rodney Davis
2013 4th