Maryland Sen. Ben Cardin Won't Seek Reelection Next Year

Democrat Ben Cardin, Maryland's senior U.S. Senator, will not run for a 4th term in 2024. He released this video announcing the decision on Monday afternoon.

A wide open primary battle is likely for this rare open Senate seat in Maryland. The last was in 2016, when Barbara Mikulski (D) retired; then Rep. Chris Van Hollen won the seat.

Democrats will be favored to hold the seat, particularly in a presidential election year. While Republicans have occasionally been successful in gubernatorial races in this deep blue state, the last elected to the Senate was Charles Mathias, who won a third term back in 1980. 

Two other Senators have announced their departure at the end of this term. Indiana's Mike Braun (R) is running for governor, while Debbie Stabenow (D) of Michigan is retiring.  

comments powered by Disqus


Overview and Live Results: North Dakota Republican Presidential Caucus

On the eve of Super Tuesday, 29 delegates will be up for grabs

Overview and Live Results: District of Columbia Republican Presidential Primary

The three day party-run primary ends Sunday; 19 delegates are available

Overview and Results: Republican Caucuses in Idaho, Michigan, and Missouri

Already unusual as the second half of a two-part nominating contest, Michigan's caucuses have turmoil surrounding competing party factions

Overview and Live Results: Michigan Presidential Primary

Democrats pushed the state to the front of the nominating calendar; Republicans will hold a split event to accommodate party rules

Overview and Live Results: South Carolina Republican Primary

The winner of this primary has been the GOP nominee in all but one cycle since 1980