Live Results: Mayoral Elections in San Antonio, Fort Worth and Three Other Texas Cities

May 1, 2021

On Saturday, Texans in five of the nation's 100 largest cities will elect a mayor. These are non-partisan (NPA) all-party primaries. In each race, if no candidate gets a majority of the vote, the top two finishers will meet in a June 5 runoff election. Polls close at 8:00 PM Eastern Time.

Related: Texas 6th Congressional District Special Election.  Live Results >> 

Mayoral Elections

City rankings are based on July 1, 2019 Census Bureau population estimates. They are for the city itself, not the associated metropolitan area.

San Antonio

San Antonio is the 7th largest city in the United States, with a population of about 1.5 million. The current mayor is independent Ron Nirenberg. He was elected to a second two-year term with about 51% of the vote in 2019. That was a top two runoff against Greg Brockhouse. 

14 candidates are on the ballot, including Nirenberg and Brockhouse. If a June 5 runoff is required, it would likely be a rematch between these two men.  


Fort Worth

Fort Worth is the 13th largest city in the United States, with a population of about 900,000. The current mayor is Republican Betsy Price, who is completing her 5th two-year term. She is not standing for reelection. 

10 candidates are on the ballot. The most prominent appear to be Brian Byrd, Mattie Parker, Deborah Peoples and Ann Zadeh. 



Arlington is the 49th largest city in the United States, with a population of about 400,000. The current mayor is Republican Jeff Williams, who won a third two-year term in 2019. He is unable to run again due to term limits.

There are seven candidates on the ballot. Attorney Jim Ross has spent the most money and has received the endorsement of the current mayor.  


Plano is the 70th largest city in the United States, with a population of about 300,000. The current mayor is Republican Harry LaRosiliere. He won a second four-year term in 2017 and cannot run due to term limits.

There are three candidates on the ballot


Garland is the 94th largest city in the United States, with a population of about 240,000. The current mayor is Republican Scott LeMay who was unopposed when he first ran in 2019. LeMay is seeking a second two-year term. He is opposed by Roel Garcia. As there are only two candidates on the ballot, no runoff election will be needed. 

Upcoming May 4

  • Mayoral Primary in Cincinnati, Ohio
comments powered by Disqus


New Orleans State Senate District 7 Special All Party Primary Election

The former incumbent, Democrat Troy Carter, resigned after being elected to Congress in an April special election.

GOP Rep. Vicky Hartzler to Run for Open Missouri U.S. Senate Seat

She joins what will be a crowded field hoping to succeed retiring Republican Sen. Roy Blunt

Rep. Val Demings Announces 2022 Challenge to Sen. Marco Rubio

This move was widely expected and is now official. The Florida senate seat is one of 34 to be contested in 2022.

Recap of Virginia and New Jersey Primary Results

Virginia Democrats nominated Terry McAuliffe, while New Jersey Republicans chose Jack Ciattarelli. Democrats are favored in both states this November.

Overview and Live Results: Virginia Primary

Democrats will choose a nominee to succeed termed-out Ralph Northam; both parties will nominate for seats in the House of Delegates