2022 Arizona Primary Live Results


Election Date August 2, 2022
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place and Hours
Polls Close 10:00 PM Eastern Time
On this Page Primary results for U.S. Senate, Governor, Secy. of State, Attorney General, U.S. House, State Legislature

U.S. Senate

Sen. Mark Kelly (D) is seeking a full term after winning 2020 special election. Donald Trump endorsed businessman Blake Masters in early June, propelling him to frontrunner status over businessman Jim Lamon in subsequent polling. Attorney General Mark Brnovich is also on the ballot.


Gov. Doug Ducey (R) is term-limited. The Democratic nominee is expected to be Secretary of State Katie Hobbs. The GOP contest features Trump-endorsed former news anchor Kari Lake and businesswoman Karrin Taylor Robson, who is endorsed by Mike Pence. 

Attorney General

Incumbent Republican Mark Brnovich is term-limited; he is running for U.S. Senate. Kristin Mayes, former chair of the Arizona Corporation Commission, is unopposd for the Democratic nomination.

Six candidates are seeking the GOP nomination. Trump has endorsed former prosecutor Abraham Hamadeh.

Secretary of State

Incumbent Katie Hobbs (D) is running for governor. Two Democrats are vying for the party's nomination.

Most focus will be on the GOP side, which includes a proxy war between Trump and Ducey.  Trump has endorsed State Rep. Mark Finchem, a proponent of election fraud conspiracy theories, while Ducey is backing businessman Beau Lane. There are two other candidates on the ballot, with a recent poll showing nearly 3 in 4 GOP voters undecided.

U.S. House

These primaries will take place using redistricted boundaries

District Party Comments
1 BOTH Rep. David Schweikert (R) is being challenged by Elijah Norton, a self-funding businessman. The Democratic primary is also worth watching, as the district became more competitive in redistricting.  
2 R Seven Republicans are seeking the nomination to challenge Rep. Tom O'Halleran (D) in a district that shifted to the right in redistricting.
4 R Another district that shifted to the right in redistricting, although it still leans Democratic. Rep. Greg Stanton (D) will meet the winner of a five-person GOP primary.
6 BOTH Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D) is retiring. There are competitive primaries in both parties.

For more detail on the above primaries, see this analysis from Split Ticket.

Immediately below are individual results for each primary discussed above. Below that are party-specific tables including results for all primaries being held across the state's nine districts. Change the active district by making a selection in the drop-down menu. 

State Senate

The Arizona State Senate has a nearly even partisan split; Republicans hold 16 of the 30 seats. Members serve two-year terms.

Keep an eye on the GOP primary in District 10. Arizona State House Speaker Rusty Bowers is term-limited in that chamber; he's seeking a promotion to the State Senate.

Bowers has been dismissive of Trump's efforts to overturn his narrow 2020 loss in the state. This earned him the enmity of the former president and many of his GOP colleagues.

The Arizona Republican Party censured Bowers in July after he testified before the January 6 commission. Trump has endorsed former State Sen. David Farnsworth in the primary.


State House

Like the State Senate, control of the Arizona House of Representatives narrowly belongs to the Republicans. The party holds 31 of 60 seats. Members serve two-year terms.