2018 Election Live Results


Live Here? Find your Polling Place and Hours

On this Page: U.S. Representative (6 congressional districts)

Results Expected: After 9:00 PM Eastern Time

The state has no party primaries. The November 6th vote is an "open primary", bringing together all candidates from all parties on one ballot. If someone receives a majority of the vote, that person is the winner. If not, the top-two vote getters, regardless of party, advance to a runoff on Saturday, December 8th.

U.S. House

6 Congressional Districts: 5 Republicans | 1 Democrat

Races to Watch: None
All seats are safe for the incumbent party. There is some possibility a runoff may be needed in the 3rd district. However, that is very unlikely to change the ultimate outcome.

U.S. House District 1

Candidate Votes Percent
Jim Francis (Democratic)
*Steve Scalise (Republican)
Tammy Savoie (Democratic)
Lee Ann Dugas (Democratic)
Frederick Jones (Independent)
Howard Kearney (Libertarian)


U.S. House District 2

Candidate Votes Percent
*Cedric Richmond (Democratic)
Jesse Schmidt (Independent)
Shawndra Rodriguez (Independent)
Belden Batiste (Independent)


U.S. House District 3

Candidate Votes Percent
Mildred Methvin (Democratic)
Josh Guillory (Republican)
*Clay Higgins (Republican)
Aaron Andrus (Libertarian)
Verone Thomas (Democratic)
Rob Anderson (Democratic)
Larry Rader (Democratic)


U.S. House District 4

Candidate Votes Percent
Ryan Trundle (Democratic)
*Mike Johnson (Republican)
Mark Halverson (Independent)


U.S. House District 5

Candidate Votes Percent
Jessee Carlton Fleenor (Democratic)
*Ralph Abraham (Republican)
Billy Burkette (Independent)
Kyle Randol (Libertarian)


U.S. House District 6

Candidate Votes Percent
Justin DeWitt (Democratic)
*Garret Graves (Republican)
Andie Saizan (Democratic)
Devin Lance Graham (Independent)


U.S. Senate

Neither seat is up for election this year.

2020: Sen. Bill Cassidy (R, 1st term) | 2022: Sen. John Kennedy (R, 1st term)


Louisiana is one of three states where the next election is in 2019. Gov. John Bel Edwards (D) is the incumbent.