Laredo Mayoral Runoff Election

On Election Day, there were 17 mayoral elections across the nation's 100 largest cities.1 1Population rankings are based on July 1, 2021 Census Bureau population estimates. They are for the city itself, not the associated metropolitan area.In Laredo, the smallest of those cities, no candidate received a majority of the vote, requiring this runoff.

Rank Population Mayor Term Status
87 256,153 Pete Saenz (I) 2 Term Limited

A ten-person field competed in the nonpartisan (NPA) November 8 election, with four candidates receiving over 15% support. The top two finishers were Mercurio Martinez (22% of the vote) and Victor Trevino (21%). They were separated by just over 300 votes. Martinez is a former City Councilmember, while Trevino was previously the top doctor at the city's health authority.

Polls close at 8:00 PM Eastern Time.

Upcoming Special Elections

  • December 20
    • Georgia State House District 129
  • January 3
    • Georgia State House District 7
  • January 10
    • Mississippi State House District 23
    • Virginia State House District 35
    • Virginia State Senate District 7
  • January 31
    • Pennsylvania State Senate District 27
  • February 7
    • Pennsylvania State House Districts 32, 34, 35
  • February 21
    • Virginia U.S. House District 4
comments powered by Disqus


California Democratic Rep. Anna Eshoo to Retire Next Year

First elected in 1992, she will complete her 16th term in 2024

Overview and Live Results: Utah 2nd Congressional District Special Election

The lone vacancy in the U.S. House will be filled by the winner, who will complete the term of Chris Stewart (R), who resigned in September

California Democratic Rep. Tony Cárdenas Not Seeking Reelection

He represents a deep blue district in the Los Angeles area

Overview and Live Results: Election Day in Louisiana

Voters will elect a Secretary of State and Attorney General; there are also 20 legislative elections.

Live Results: Minnesota State House Special Primary Election

Democrats control this narrowly divided chamber; special general election is December 5