Cincinnati Mayoral Primary Overview and Live Results

Cincinnati is the 64th largest city in the United States,1 1City rankings are based on July 1, 2019 Census Bureau population estimates. They are for the city itself, not the associated metropolitan area. with a population of about 300,000.  Tuesday's all-party mayoral primary will select the two candidates that will meet in the November 2 general election. 

The current mayor is Democrat John Cranley, who is completing his second four year term. He is unable to run due to term limits. There are six candidates on the ballot. While officially nonpartisan (NPA label on the results below), five of the candidates are Democrats; Herman Najoli is an independent. 

There's little clarity on which two candidates will advance to the general election. The top tier candidates are Aftab Pureval, Cecil Thomas and David Mann, with Gavi Begtrup also in the running. Pureval, Hamilton County Clerk of Courts, has raised the most money. Herman Najoli has raised little and did not participate in an online debate last month.

Polls close at 7:30 PM.

A couple notes:

  • An early frontrunner in the race, P.G. Sittenfeld, was arrested on federal corruption charges last November. He was suspended from his city council role in December and withdrew from the race in February.
  • The last Republican to appear on the primary ballot was Brad Wenstrup in 2009. 
  • The last Republican to serve as mayor was Bill Gradison who left office in 1971. In that era - and for the period from 1925-1999 - the mayor was chosen by the City Council.

Upcoming May 11

  • Omaha, Nebraska mayoral general election
  • Anchorage, Alaska mayoral runoff
comments powered by Disqus


Democratic Rep. Anthony Brown to Run for Maryland Attorney General

The solidly blue 4th district is expected to remain that way after redistricting

Poll: Virginia Governor's Race a Dead Heat

Democrat Terry McAuliffe and Republican Glenn Youngkin are tied at 46% with registered voters

New Hampshire Rockingham District 6 Special GOP Primary

Special general election is December 7. The vacancy occurred when Republican Anne Copp resigned in August.

Two Longtime Democratic House Members Won't Seek Reelection

David Price of North Carolina and Mike Doyle of Pennsylvania will retire at the end of this term

Kentucky Democrat Rep. John Yarmuth Won't Seek Reelection Next Year

He is the chairman of the House Budget Committee and the Only Democratic Rep from the state