Three Democratic Senators to be Sworn In Wednesday Afternoon

January 19, 2021

Punchbowl News reports in its Tuesday morning newsletter that "Democrats Alex Padilla (Calif.), Jon Ossoff (Ga.) and Raphael Warnock (Ga.) will be sworn in as new senators on Wednesday afternoon, according to a Senate source. This will come shortly after Biden and Kamala Harris take their own oaths of office. As VP, Harris is expected to swear in the majority making trio."

For those not familiar, Punchbowl News is a new political news start-up founded by three veterans of Politico. We're finding their free morning edition an invaluable start to the day. You can sign up here.

With these additions, the Senate will be split 50-50 shortly after the start of the Biden administration. That will make vice president Kamala Harris the president of the Senate, able to cast tiebreaking votes. As a result, Democrats will nominally take control of the chamber, with Chuck Schumer expected to become majority leader. However, as the Senate is evenly divided, committees are expected to have the same number of members from each party. To address those types of issues, Schumer and current majority leader Mitch McConnell are currently discussing an arrangement similar to one that was used the last time there was a 50-50 Senate in 2001. 

Padilla was appointed by California Gov. Gavin Newsom to replace Harris, who resigned Monday. He will complete the final two years of her term; the seat will be contested again in the 2022 Senate Election.

Ossoff and Warnock won election runoffs in Georgia earlier this month, defeating incumbent Republicans David Perdue and Kelly Loeffler. Warnock will serve the final two years of the term of Johnny Isakson, who resigned at the end of 2019. Loeffler had been appointed by Gov. Brian Kemp to fill the seat through the special election.


comments powered by Disqus


New and Updated Features on the 270toWin Website

The electoral map is changing for 2024. This update includes the projected changes as well as Senate and governor maps for 2022

Republican Claudia Tenney Wins NY-22; Final Undecided House Race from November

Democratic incumbent Anthony Brindisi conceded after New York state certified the election

Alabama Sen. Richard Shelby Won't Seek Reelection in 2022

The 6th term Republican is the longest serving Senator in the state's history

Update: 2020 Election if All States Allocated Electoral Votes Like Maine and Nebraska

Biden would have won a narrower 277-261 using this congressional district method, one which is heavily influenced by the number of gerrymandered districts around the country

Sabato's Crystal Ball Initial Ratings for 2022 Senate Election

Another tight battle for control appears on tap in the 2022 midterms