Massachusetts Primary Results

September 10, 2014

The Massachusetts nominating primaries for the 2014 election were held on September 9.   

Governor:  Attorney General Martha Coakley won by 6 points in the Democratic primary, a result that was much closer than the polls indicated.  She will meet Republican Charlie Baker in November. Coakley is favored to win by the political pros, but some recent polls show the race to be pretty competitive.    Democrats may be nervous about a repeat of 2010, when Coakley led early in a Senate campaign she ultimately lost against Scott Brown.

Senate:  Incumbent Ed Markey (D) will meet Selectman Brian Herr in November; both won uncontested primaries.   Markey is a heavy favorite to be reelected; our Senate simulator currently shows a 97% probability.

US House: All vote totals can be seen here.    Massachusetts nine congressional districts are all held by Democrats.   Aside from District 6, all these seats are safe, and all incumbents are expected to be reelected.

MA-06: Nine term incumbent John Tierney was ousted by businessman Seth Moulton for this district encompassing northeastern Massachusetts.   Tierney becomes the first MA Democratic incumbent to lose a primary in 22 years. Tierney was weakened politically by his wife's conviction on federal tax charges in 2010.  Moultion will face former State Senator Richard Tisei in November.   This race is seem as a toss-up, perhaps leaning Democratic.   Interestingly, Moulton's win probably increases the likelihood that Democrats will hold the seat.

To see the current roster of Massachsuetts elected officials, or look up those from any address in the country, use our Who Represents Me feature.

comments powered by Disqus


Joe Biden 35 Delegates From Clinching Democratic Nomination

He's likely to cross the threshold when this week's remaining delegates are awarded. However, if he comes up short, he'll almost certainly lock it up when Georgia polls close next Tuesday.

Rep. Steve King Loses Primary; Seat Moves to Safe Republican in November

Nine-term term incumbent becomes 2nd member to lose primary in 2020

Nine States and DC Hold Primaries Today: Overview and Live Results

On one of the busier days of the reshuffled calendar, Joe Biden has a chance to clinch the nomination. However, a late change in Pennsylvania may delay that opportunity.

The Road to 270: Washington

An increasingly blue state overall, the Cascade mountain range marks both a physical and political separation between largely liberal and conservative populations.

The Road to 270: Mississippi

At the presidential level, the Magnolia State has voted for only one Democratic nominee since 1960. The population demographics drive remarkably consistent results every four years.