Florida Primary Results

 The Florida nominating primaries for the 2014 election were held on August 26.   Results for races expected to be competitive in November are summarized below.

Governor:  As expected incumbent Rick Scott and former governor Charlie Crist easily dispatched their primary opponents, setting the stage for one of the most expensive election battles ever seen. Reports are that the Scott campaign (and supporters) will spend upwards of $100 million to get the governor re-elected.  Polling shows the race to be a toss-up.  

US House: All vote totals can be seen here.    Of Florida's 27 congressional districts, only three are seen as competitive this November.   Thank you, gerrymandering!

FL-02: Second term incumbent Republican Steve Southerland will face Gwen Graham in November; both ran unopposed in the primary. The district encompasses the eastern half of the Florida panhandle, including Tallahassee. The race is seen as a toss-up.

FL-18:  First term incumbent Democratic Patrick Murphy ran unopposed.  He will meet Carl Domino, who emerged victorious from a six-way primary.  This district is located in the southeastern part of the state, from south of Vero Beach to the northern part of the Palm Beach area.   Congressman Murphy is slightly favored to win re-election.

FL-26: This District, new after the 2010 Census reapportionment includes extreme South Florida, including southwestern parts of Miami area and the Florida Keys   Incumbent Democrat Joe Garcia ran unopposed and will meet Carlos Curbelo who beat four opponents in the Republican primary.

All other incumbents were renominated and are expected to prevail in November.

To see the current roster of Florida elected officials, or look up those from any address in the country, use our Who Represents Me feature.

comments powered by Disqus


Rep. Louie Gohmert Running for Texas Attorney General Next Year

He's leaving a safe seat in an attempt to unseat incumbent Republican Ken Paxton

Live Results: Mississippi State Senate Special Election Runoff

No candidate received a majority of the vote on November 2; this runoff will fill a vacancy

Vermont Rep. Peter Welch Running to Replace Retiring Sen. Patrick Leahy

He has been the state's at-large House representative since being elected in 2006.

Texas Democratic Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson to Retire

Now in her 15th term, she represents a safely Democratic Dallas-area district

North Carolina Democratic Rep. G.K. Butterfield to Retire in 2022

His district became somewhat less favorable in the redistricting maps recently approved by the state legislature