Legislative Special Primaries in Oklahoma and Alabama

Polls close at 8:00 PM Eastern Time. 

Oklahoma State Senate Districts 46 and 48

Republicans hold a 40-8 supermajority in the Oklahoma State Senate. Members serve four-year staggered terms; the odd-numbered districts are up for election in 2024.

The special primaries coincide with the Oklahoma statewide primary, although these particular districts are not up for regular election until 2026. Both are in the Oklahoma City area and currently held by Democrats.

In Oklahoma, there is a lifetime limit of 12 years of service in the Legislature. In District 46, Minority Leader Kay Floyd has reached that limit. She served two years in the State House before winning State Senate elections in 2014, 2018, and 2022. Halfway through this four-year term, she has hit the 12-year limit.

The winner will meet Republican Charles Barton in the November 5 general special election.

In District 48, the special election is due to a letter of resignation submitted by George Young. It will be effective on November 15.

No Republicans have filed to run.

Alabama State House District 52

Republicans control the Alabama House of Representatives, holding 76 seats to just 28 for Democrats. Members serve four-year terms; the next regular elections are in 2026.

There is one vacancy, in the Birmingham area District 52. Democrat John Rogers resigned in March, after pleading guilty to Federal criminal charges.

Six candidates are on the Democratic primary ballot. If nobody gets a majority, there will be a runoff on July 16. 

The nominee will meet Republican Carlos Crum in the October 1 special general election.