2024 Ohio Primary Live Results


Election Date March 19, 2024
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place and Hours
Polls Close 7:30 PM Eastern Time
On this Page Primary results for President, U.S. Senate, U.S. House, State Legislature


U.S. Senate

Sen. Sherrod Brown is seeking a fourth term; he is unopposed for renomination. Brown is the only Democrat currently holding statewide office in Ohio.

Three Republicans are seeking their party's nomination, and the race has turned nasty in the closing days of the campaign.

Recent polling has shown a competitive race between State Sen. Matt Dolan and businessman Bernie Moreno. Secretary of State Frank LaRose led earlier in the race, but he has lagged of late and may struggle to reverse that due to a large gap in campaign resources.

U.S. House

There are four Republican primaries of interest. Districts 2 and 6 are safe Republican where no incumbent is on the ballot. The primary winner in each is highly likely to be the next representative. Districts 9 and 13 are competitive general election seats currently held by Democrats.

District Party Comments
2 R Brad Wenstrup (R) is retiring after six terms. In 2022, he won his final term by 49%, the largest GOP margin of victory in the state. Several competitive candidates are among the eleven on the ballot; the winner will likely have far less than majority support.
6 R This district is currently vacant; Bill Johnson (R) resigned earlier this year.
9 R Democrat Marcy Kaptur is seeking her 22nd term. The Republican nominee is likely to be State Rep. Derrik Merrin or former State. Rep. Craig Riedel. Merrin entered the race in December, after audio was released of Riedel making some uncomplimentary remarks about Donald Trump.
13 R Represented by freshman Democrat Emilia Sykes. She won by a 5% margin in 2022. Either former State Sen. Kevin Coughlin or Chris Banweg, a member of the Hudson City Council, is likely to be her opponent.

Consolidated U.S. House Races

These next two tables include all congressional primaries; select 'Change Race' to choose a district.


State Senate

State House


Next election is in 2026