2022 Washington Primary Live Results


Election Date August 2, 2022
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place and Hours
Polls Close 11:00 PM Eastern Time
Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked by this time
On this Page Primary results for U.S. Senate, U.S. House, State Legislature

Washington primaries feature candidates from all parties on a single ballot. The top two finishers advance to the general election.

U.S. Senate

Sen. Patty Murray (D) and nurse Tiffany Smiley (R) are expected to finish 1-2 in a large primary field. A few polls earlier this year showed Murray ahead in the general election by high single-digits, prompting some forecasters to move it out of the 'safe' category. However, more recent polls show Murray with closer to a 20% lead.

U.S. House

These primaries will be contested using redistricted boundaries

District Party Comments
3 ALL Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler is seeking a 7th term. One of 10 Republicans who voted to impeach Trump, she has drawn several challengers from the right, including Joe Kent, endorsed by the former president. There are also two Democrats on the ballot.
4 ALL Rep. Dan Newhouse (R), who also supported impeachment, has drawn a challenge from Trump-endorsed Loren Culp, who lost to Jay Inslee (D) in the 2020 gubernatorial race. There are six other Republicans and one Democrat on the ballot.
8 ALL Rep. Kim Schrier (D) is seeking a third term in the state's most competitive general election district. She is expected to advance, with 10 candidates vying for the second spot.

For more granular detail on the above primaries, see this analysis from Split Ticket.

Immediately below are individual results for each primary discussed above. Below that is a table with results for all primaries being held across the state's ten districts. Change the active district by making a selection in the drop-down menu. 

State Senate

Democrats hold 29 of the 49 seats in the Washington State Senate. Members serve four-year staggered terms; 24 of the seats are up for election in 2022.

State House

Democrats hold a 57-41 edge over Republicans in the Washington House of Representatives. Members serve two-year terms.


No 2022 election