2022 Nebraska Primary Live Results


Election Date May 10, 2022
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place and Hours
Polls Close 9:00 PM Eastern Time
On this Page Primary results for Governor, U.S. House and State Legislature


Republican Gov. Pete Ricketts is completing his second term; he is ineligible to run due to term limits. A large field of nine candidates is seeking to succeed him, although it is really a three-way race between businessman Charles Herbster, State Sen. Brett Lindstrom, and businessman Jim Pillen. In this deep red state, the primary winner will be a heavy general election favorite.

State Sen. Carol Blood is likely to be the Democratic nominee.

U.S. House

These primaries will be conducted using redistricted congressional boundaries. There are three primaries of note; background and results follow. Below that are party-specific tables with results for each of the state's three congressional districts.

District Party Comments
1 R Safe GOP district is currently vacant; former Rep. Jeff Fortenberry resigned at the end of March, too late to have his name removed from the ballot. State Sen. Mike Flood is favored, with fellow Sen. Patty Brooks expected to be the Democratic nominee. Both these candidates have already been nominated for the June 28 special election to complete Fortenberry's term.
2 Both The state's only competitive district is one of the few remaining crossover districts nationally. In 2020, GOP Rep. Don Bacon narrowly won reelection at the same time that Joe Biden won here by about 6%. He is expected to be renominated. On the Democratic side, State Sen. Tony Vargas and Alisha Shelton, who sought the party's 2020 U.S. Senate nomination, are on the ballot.

State Senate

Unique among the 50 states, Nebraska has a unicameral (single chamber) State Legislature. Members are called Senators. While officially nonpartisan, political affiliation is known. There are 31 Republicans and 17 Democrats, with one vacancy. Members serve four-year staggered terms; the 24 evenly-numbered districts are up for election this year.

The top two finishers in contested primaries advance to the November 8 general election.