1820 Presidential Election Interactive Map

118 electoral votes to win
no 1820 election
no 1820 election

Split Votes

D-R D-R Other Total

1820 Actual Election Results

Candidate Party Electoral Votes
James Monroe (I) Democratic-Republican 231
John Quincy Adams Democratic-Republican 1

1820 Election Facts

  • Welcome: Alabama, Illinois, Maine, Mississippi and Missouri become states during this election cycle
  • Monroe won every state; one Elector selected Adams so the result was not unanimous
  • One Elector each from Mississippi, Pennsylvania and Tennessee died & those votes were not cast
  • Monroe won New Hampshire; however one elector cast a vote for Adams
  • Issues of the Day: Slavery (Missouri Compromise)