2024 Texas Primary Live Results


Election Date March 5, 2024
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place
Polls Close 8:00 PM Eastern Time, except 9:00 PM Eastern for West Texas areas observing Mountain Time
On this Page Primary results for President, U.S. Senate, U.S. House, State Legislature
Where no candidate gets a majority of the vote, the top two finishers will have a runoff on May 28. This does not apply to presidential primaries.
Runoffs Live Results


U.S. Senate

Sen. Ted Cruz is seeking a third term. He has only minor primary opposition.

For the Democrats, Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32) has been well ahead in the polls. State Sen. Roland Gutierrez is expected to finish second. The main suspense is whether Allred can get a majority of the vote to avoid a May 28 runoff against Gutierrez.

U.S. House

Redistricting in advance of the 2022 election left most congressional districts uncompetitive in terms of the general election. Nonetheless, there are a few primaries of interest.

District Party Comments
12 R Kay Granger retiring from this safe Republican district. Craig Goldman, the majority leader of the Texas House, is favored.
15 D Republican Monica de la Cruz is seeking a 2nd term, after flipping this South Texas district in 2022. Democrat Michelle Vallejo is back for a rematch, and is expected to win her primary.
18 D Will Thursday be Sheila Jackson-Lee's last opportunity to claim an aisle seat at the State of the Union? After losing a runoff for Houston mayor, she decided to seek a 16th term in Congress. She faces perhaps the most serious challenge of her long career from Amanda Edwards, a former intern in her office.
23 R Republican Tony Gonzales was censured by the state GOP for supporting a gun control bill after the deadly shooting in Uvalde in 2022. He has drawn four challengers from the right to his reelection effort. Gonzales should finish first, but things might get interesting if he doesn't get a majority and is forced into a May 28 runoff.
26 R Michael Burgess is retiring.  Eleven Republicans are seeking to succeed him in this deep red district. 
28 R Rep. Henry Cuellar (D) is seeking an 11th term. There are few competitive districts remaining in Texas after post-2020 Census redistricting. This is one, but just barely. Four Republicans are competing for their party's nomination.
32 D Rep. Collin Allred is running for U.S. Senate.  Ten Democrats are on the ballot to succeed him in this safely Democratic Dallas-area district.
34 R Republican Mayra Flores won a 2022 special election in this competitive South Texas district after Democrat Filemon Vela resigned. Flores lost to Vincente Gonzalez that November; Gonzalez had moved over from the 15th District after redistricting. Flores has three opponents on the GOP ballot, but a rematch is expected in November.

Consolidated U.S. House Races

These next two tables include all congressional primaries; select 'Change Race' to choose a district.

There are quite a few districts only be contested by one of the major parties.

No Democrats are running in Districts 1, 11, 13, 19, or 25.

No Republicans are running in Districts 9, 20, or 30.

State Senate

State House

Keep an eye on the Republican primary in District 21, where House Speaker Dade Phelan is seeking a 5th term.

As the Texas Tribune reports, "Phelan is fighting the most intense reelection battle of his political career as powerful Republicans have lined up to attack him, including former President Donald Trump and his ally Attorney General Ken Paxton who is hopping mad over the House’s impeachment of him this summer. Phelan’s opponent in the race David Covey also has the support of Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller and Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, in addition to the Texas GOP chair Matt Rinaldi."


Next election is in 2026