2024 Indiana Primary Live Results


Election Date November 8, 2022
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place and Hours
Polls Close 6:00 PM Eastern Time, except 7:00 PM Eastern for areas observing Central Time
On this Page Primary results for President, U.S. Senate, Governor, U.S. House and State Legislature


President Joe Biden is unopposed for the Democratic nomination. He will add 79 pledged delegates to his total.

Donald Trump and Nikki Haley are on the Republican ballot. 31 delegates are based on the statewide vote; three based on the vote in each of the state's nine congressional districts. In each case, it is winner take all, with Trump expected to add all 58 delegates to his total.

U.S. Senate

Sen. Mike Braun (R) is running for governor instead of seeking a second term in the Senate. Rep. Jim Banks (IN-03) is unopposed for the Republican nomination, and will be favored in November. Former State Rep. Marc Carmichael and psychologist Valerie McCray are seeking the Democratic nomination. 


Governor Eric Holcomb (R) is completing his second term and is ineligible to run due to term limit laws. Former state school superintendent Jennifer McCormick is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

For the Republicans, Sen. Mike Braun has held frontrunner status since joining the race in late 2022. While he has drawn three well-funded challengers, they are largely splitting the anti-Braun vote. 

U.S. House

There will be significant turnover in the nine-member House delegation, as three Republicans are leaving. Rep. Jim Banks (IN-03) is running for Senate, while Reps. Greg Pence (IN-06) and Larry Bucshon (IN-07) are retiring. A fourth Republican, Victoria Spartz (IN-05) changed her mind about retiring, and is now at risk of being ousted by voters.

These are all safe GOP seats in the general election, so all the action will be in these four primaries.

District Party Comments
3 R A field of eight is looking to succeed Banks. The nominee will likely be one of of Wendy Davis, Tim Smith, Marlin Stutzman, or Andy Zay.
5 R Spartz was the first House member to announce a retirement this cycle, making the decision just one month into the new Congress. A year later, she reversed course and decided to seek a third term. In the interim, however, a large number of candidates entered the race. State Rep. Chuck Goodrich appears to have the best chance to knock out the incumbent. This looks to be the most expensive congressional primary in the entire state this year.
6 R Pence, the brother of former vice-president Mike Pence, is exiting after three terms.  There are seven candidates on the ballot. The frontrunners appear to be businessman Jefferson Shreve and State Rep. Mike Speedy. Shreve spent millions in an unsuccessful bid to become Indianapolis mayor in 2023. As this district is largely within the Indianapolis media market, that prior effort brings him added name recognition. On the other hand, the more moderate positioning on issues required to compete for mayor may turn off some GOP primary voters.  
8 R Bucshon is completing his 7th term, making him the most senior Republican in the House caucus. Eight are on the ballot, including John Hostettler, who represented a prior iteration of this district from 1995 to 2007. Hostettler and State Sen. Mark Messmer appear to be the frontrunners. Hostettler's past voting record on Israel-related legislation has led to significant financial support for Messmer from outside groups.

Consolidated U.S. House Races

These next two tables include all congressional primaries; select 'Change Race' to choose a district.

State Senate

There are 40 Republicans and nine Democrats, along with one vacancy. Members serve four-year staggered terms, with half the seats up for election this year.

The open seat was held by long-time Democratic Sen. Jean Breaux, who died in March. She had faced no primary or general election opposition since at least 2012, and that was to be the case again this year. The Democratic Party has until July 3 to nominate a replacement candidate for the November ballot. Indianapolis City-County Councilor La Keisha Jackson was chosen to complete Breaux's term; she has not yet been sworn in. 

State House

The GOP partisan edge in the State House is 70-30; members serve two-year terms.