2022 Minnesota Primary Live Results


Election Date August 9, 2022
Where to Vote Find your Polling Place and Hours
Polls Close 9:00 PM Eastern Time
On this Page Primary results for Governor, U.S. House, State Legislature


Democratic Gov. Tim Walz is seeking a second term. He faces nominal primary opposition. On the Republican side, former State Sen. Scott Jensen was endorsed at the party's May convention. He has two minor primary opponents. Most forecasters rate the general election Leans or Likely Democratic.

U.S. House

These primaries will be contested using redistricted boundaries

District Party Comments
1 R Former State Rep. Brad Finstad and State Rep. Jeremy Munson meet in a rematch of a May special primary election for this vacant seat. Finstad narrowly won and is also on Tuesday's ballot for the special general election being held to complete the term of the late Jim Hagedorn (R).
5 D 'Squad' member Ilhan Omar faces a centrist primary challenge from former Minneapolis City Councilman Don Samuels.

Immediately below are individual results for the two primaries discussed above. Below that is a table with results for all primaries being held across the state's eight districts. Change the active district by making a selection in the drop-down menu. 

State Senate

Republicans hold a narrow 34-31 edge over Democrats in the Minnesota State Senate. There are two independents. The chamber uses a 2-4-4 system: Terms are four years in length except two years for the election immediately preceding a redistricting. The 2020 elections were for two years, the ones this year and in 2026 will be for four years.


State House

The Minnesota House of Representatives is narrowly split between the two parties. Democrats hold 69 seats, Republicans 64. There is one independent. Members serve two-year terms.

U.S. Senate

No 2022 election