1876 Presidential Election Interactive Map

185 electoral votes to win

Change history with the 1876 presidential election interactive map.

Update a state winner by clicking it to rotate through candidates. Alternately, select a candidate color in the Map Color Palette, then select states to apply. Use the edit button in the Palette to update candidate information.

Split electoral vote states - if any - are not interactive. Use the table below the map to make changes.

For full details, see the user guide.

no 1876 election
no 1876 election

Split Electoral Votes

States shown here did not allocate all their available electoral votes to one candidate. The historical split can be edited in this table. You can also use the drop down menu to split other states.

Removing the split () will set the state to undecided and make it interactive on the map.

R D Total   Remove

1876 Actual Election Results

Candidate Party Electoral Votes Popular Votes
Rutherford B. Hayes Republican 185 4,036,298
Samuel J. Tilden Democratic 184 4,300,590

1876 Election Facts

  • Welcome: Colorado becomes a state during this election cycle
  • One of most controversial elections ever; Electoral Commission awarded it to Hayes
  • One of only 5 elections (1824, 1876, 1888, 2000, 2016) where the popular vote winner was defeated
  • Issues of the Day: Corruption, Financial Panic of 1873