Romney wins by 21.8%

2012 POLLS (Obama vs. Romney)

2010 Census Reapportionment: As has been the case since 1964, Nebraska will remain at 5 electoral votes through the 2020 presidential election.

Nebraska entered the Union in March 1867, 13 years after it became a territory under the Kansas-Nebraska Act, and the first state admitted after the end of the Civil War. The state is strongly Republican in presidential elections – it last voted Democratic in 1964. However, it is one of only two states (Maine being the other) to not use the all-or-nothing approach to awarding electoral votes. The winner of the popular vote gets two electoral votes, while one is assigned to the winner of each of the state’s three congressional districts. This approach was established beginning with the 1992 election. In 2008, while John McCain easily won the state by 15%, Barack Obama won the 2nd Congressional District (Omaha area) by a little over 3,000 votes (1.2%) to win that District's electoral vote. That split did not recur in 2012 as Mitt Romney won the state over Obama by 22%, with a 7% margin in the 2nd Congressional District. Nebraska’s primarily rural population has not grown as quickly as other parts of the country, leading to declining electoral influence – from a peak of eight electoral votes before the Great Depression to its current total of five.

year facts

Copyright © 2004-2015 All Rights Reserved