Arizona Primary Results


The Arizona nominating primaries for the 2014 election were held on August 26.   Results for races expected to be competitive in November are summarized below.

Governor:  The six-way Republican primary was won by State Treasurer Doug Ducey.  He will face Democrat Fred DuVal, who ran unopposed.  Incumbent Jan Brewer is ineligible to run for re-election due to term limits.  Ducey is favored by the pundits, although polling to-date has been very close.   

US House: All vote totals can be seen here.    Of Arizona's 9 congressional districts,  three are seen as competitive this November:

AZ-01: Incumbent Ann Kirkpatrick (D) ran unopposed.  She will meet either Andy Tobin or Gary Kiehne in November.  As of this morning, the race was too close to call, with Tobin leading by about 300 votes.   The race is seen as a toss-up.  The District encompasses most of the eastern half of the state, and is the 10th largest in geographic area in the United States.

AZ-02:  As in District 1, an incumbent Democrat is in a tight race for re-election.   Ron Barber ran unopposed and will meet retired Air Force Colonel Martha McSally in November.  McSally bested two opponents in the Republican primary.    This district includes the parts of eastern Arizona not covered by the 1st district, as well as much of the Tucson area.

AZ-09: This District, new after the 2010 Census reapportionment includes portions of the Phoenix metro area.   Incumbent Democrat Kyrsten Sinema ran unopposed.  She is a slight favorite against Republican challenger Wendy Rogers, who defeated Andrew Walter in the Republican primary.

The safely Democratic 7th District held a primary to nominate a replacement for 12 term incumbent Ed Pastor.   It was won by former State Representative Ruben Gallego.

To see the current roster of Arizona elected officials, or look up those from any address in the country, use our Who Represents Me feature.

comments powered by Disqus


Rep. Louie Gohmert Running for Texas Attorney General Next Year

He's leaving a safe seat in an attempt to unseat incumbent Republican Ken Paxton

Live Results: Mississippi State Senate Special Election Runoff

No candidate received a majority of the vote on November 2; this runoff will fill a vacancy

Vermont Rep. Peter Welch Running to Replace Retiring Sen. Patrick Leahy

He has been the state's at-large House representative since being elected in 2006.

Texas Democratic Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson to Retire

Now in her 15th term, she represents a safely Democratic Dallas-area district

North Carolina Democratic Rep. G.K. Butterfield to Retire in 2022

His district became somewhat less favorable in the redistricting maps recently approved by the state legislature