Get Adobe Flash player

Sorry, the 270toWin Senate Map requires Flash Player version 8.0.24 or higher.

2012 Senate Elections
33 Senate elections are scheduled to take place in November, 2012. All 33 are on the normal six-year cycle. The 33 seats are currently held by 21 Democrats, 10 Republicans and 2 Independents. 6 Democrats, 3 Republicans and 1 Independent have announced they are retiring and not seeking reelection. Additionally, 1 Republican was defeated in a primary.

Maine: Independent candidate Angus King is ahead of his party-affiliated challengers in most polling. To this point, he has not indicated which party he will caucus with if elected, although he is a supporter of President Obama. To view the composition of the Senate with a King win, in advance of his decision about party affiliation, choose the yellow color in the Maine rotation.
Using the Maps
There are three starting views from which to choose. The 2012 Competitive Races view is based on projections by Sabato's Crystal Ball. The 2012 interactive map and the 2013 Senate map work together; the Flip button lets you choose which is on top. Place your cursor on top of any state on the top map to see relevant election information. If cookies are set, your custom map will be saved for future visits to the site.
270toWin Senate Map Legend
33 U.S. Senate seats to be contested in 2012
2012 Interactive Senate Map
The current Senate has 51 Democrats & 47 Republicans. There are two Independents who caucus with the Democrats. This status is reflected on the slider below the map, as it is important in helping to determine the majority party.

If this is your first visit, choose a starting view for the interactive map from the three options presented. Click any state with an election to start customizing. As you modify a state, the slider showing total Senators for each party will update, as will the 2013 Senate map.

More details, including a legend, appear below the maps.

Copyright © 2004-2019 All Rights Reserved